Sun in February: Plotter vs Pantser

Guys. The sun is out and it’s 65 degrees and I’m lounging with the deck door open and drinking iced tea and working on my novel. And it’s February 28th. What the what?!

I don’t know if it’s the weather, but the words are straight up FLOWING today! How awesome is that? It’s way awesome, but also terrifying. Because today marks the day I’ve written past my outline. In October when this whole ordeal started, I drafted up a really rough outline. There wasn’t much to it, just basic plot points that I jotted down in less than fifteen minutes in the middle of the night. But that outline has really helped me along the way. It’s given me some structure. And it didn’t have an ending. Because I assumed I would have figured it out by the time I got there. Lol. Nope.

There’s an age-old question that every writer must ask themselves at one point or another: am I a plotter or a pantser? A plotter is a planner, an outliner. A panster writes by the seat of their pants. (This is an actual thing. Google it if you don’t believe me.) I think I’m a bit of both. I’m not sure if I would have written so much so quickly if it wasn’t for my outline. However, there were things that I definitely wouldn’t have written if I had strictly stuck to my outline.

But here I am now, no outline left, and lots of choices to make. I’m at the Almost End. Crazy, yeah? It’s crazy. I need to make major choices that will affect every single one of my characters. And I have nothing lined up. Today I sat down at my computer and just hoped the words would come and the choices would be made for me. That didn’t happen. Instead, I wrote around the problem. I wrote a lot of words, but I didn’t really get anywhere.

So now I have to ask myself this: do I keep trying to write like a pantser, or do I buckle down and make an outline?

IT’S A TOUGH CHOICE, OKAY?! Which is why I’m writing this blog post. I’m procrastinating. Obviously.

Just for fun…

Plotters: J.K. Rowling, John Grisham

Pantsers: Margaret Atwood, Stephen King

So really, whichever path I choose, I am among good company. I think I’m going to go make an outline now. Or maybe three. I’M NERVOUS.

Okay. Bye.

 

Leave a Reply

